Bulldogs pay tribute to top athletes


NORTH ZULCH — Seniors Hans Osth and Mackenzie Horn were named Athletes of the Year on Thursday at North Zulch’s annual athletic banquet.

Numerous other students were honored for academic and athletic achievements – and Fan of the Year awards were presented to Steve Diserens and Lori Cosby.

“Throughout this year, our motto has been PTF – Protect the Family,” said Athletic Director Marshall Earnhart. “Coaches, I love you like my own brothers and sisters.”

Volleyball Coach Greg Horn thanked his coaching staff and recognized the team for its achievement in going to state playoffs.

Cassidy Brown, Sally Osth, Andi McWhorter and Emma Baker were named Academic All-District, while Kiera Cosby was Academic All-State. All-District players included Raegan VanCour, Emma Baker, Andi McWhorter, Hannah Wiese, Sally Osth, Robin Diserens and Mackenzie Horn. Diserens, Osth and Horn were named All-State players. State qualifiers included Cassidy Brown, Kristen Massey, Ally Grier, Mackenzie Horn, Kiera Cosby, Hannah Wiese, Robin Diserens, Andi McWhorter, Emma Baker, Ty Zehnder, Micah Coleman, Sally Osth and Raegan VanCour. The Fighting Bulldog Award went to Emma Baker, while Hannah Wiese was named Newcomer of the Year. Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year were Sally Osth, who led in kills and aces, and Robin Diserens. Mackenzie Horn, the team’s leading setter and hitter, was named MVP.

Cross Country Coach Hunter Earnhart announced state qualifiers Levi Mackens, Kyela Cosby, Kiera Cosby, Mackenzie Horn, Emma Baker, Amanda Fryckland, Raegan VanCour and Sally Osth.

“The biggest thing I dreamed of when I wanted to become a coach was respect,” Earnhart said. “I called cross country practice with one day’s notice and 38 kids showed up.”

Kiera Cosby and Levi Mackens were named MVPs.

Marshall Earnhart introduced award winners in girls’ basketball and complimented his assistant coaches, Greg Horn and Alexa Alderson, noting the “chemistry of coaching.”

“When that clicks, the girls click too,” he said.

Cassidy Brown, Emma Baker, Kiera Cosby and Kyela Cosby were named to Academic All-District. Raegan VanCour was an honorable mention, and Hannah Wiese and Emma Baker were named to second team All-District. Mackenzie Horn and Kiera Cosby were first-team All-District.

The District Player of the Year, also named to the All-Region Team, was Kyela Cosby. The Fighting Bulldog Award went to Emma Baker. Hannah Wiese was Newcomer of the Year, and Mackenzie Horn was Defensive Player of the Year. Offensive Player of the Year was Kiera Cosby. The team’s MVP was Kyela Cosby.

First-year Coach David Graves introduced boys’ basketball awards, noting that the team missed the playoffs by six points in one game.

“They have started to build a new tradition for North Zulch men’s basketball,” Graves said of the players.

Ryan Housley, Weston Wolfe and Hans Osth were named to the Academic All-District Team. Cole Weaver was an All-District Player along with Tye Douga, Gerhart Wiese and Hans Osth. Best Point Guard went to Trey Crocker, and the Bulldog Award was presented to Jeremy Andrews. Newcomer of the Year was Cole Weaver. Trey Crocker picked up Defensive Player of the Year, while Hans Osth was Offensive Player of the Year. Gerhart Wiese was named MVP.

Coach Greg Horn introduced softball awards, noting that Robin Diserens “really stepped up” as a pitcher, working well with catcher Eliza Lazenby.

“Being a good leader is also being a good follower, knowing when to lead and when to follow,” Horn said. “It’s tough going from one sport to the next, not having warm-up time, not having pre-season. This was a great team, a great bunch of girls.”

Emma Baker, Cassidy Brown and Andi McWhorter were Academic All-District. Cassidy Brown got honorable mention All-District honors, while Emma Baker was named to second team.

The Fighting Bulldog Award went to Cassidy Brown, while Emma Baker was named Offensive Player of the Year and Mackenzie Horn was Defensive Player of the Year. Ally Grier was Newcomer of the Year, and Robin Diserens was the team’s MVP.

Baseball Head Coach Matt McManemin presented the team’s Fighting Bulldog Award to Nolan Diserens. Offensive Player of the Year was Ryan Housley, and Defensive Player honors went to Cole Weaver. Newcomer of the Year was Tyler Wallace. Hans Osth was the team’s MVP.

Tennis MVP honors went to Sally Osth, Hans Osth and Ty Zehnder. Trey Crocker and Breanne Matheson were recognized for golf achievements. Track MVPs were Hans Osth and Mackenzie Horn.