Judge, JP spots contested


The biggest revelation in the list of local candidates that have filed for election in the March 6, 2018 primaries is that all of them are Republican.

Also, the County Judge and Justice of the Peace Precinct 2 positions will be well-contested.

Five positions in the county have only one candidate.

On the state side, the governor’s race has fielded 13 candidates from both races, including incumbent Gov. Greg Abbott, and four candidates for lieutenant governor.

District 57 Rep. Trent Ashby, whose district covers Madison County, is unopposed in the primary, but there is a Democratic candidate — Jason Rogers Lufkin.

State Sen. Charles Schwertner has drawn opposition from fellow Republican, Harold Ramm of Groesbeck, as well as three Democratic candidates for the position, Brian Cronin, Glenn “Grumpy” Williams and Meg Walsh.

On the federal side, incumbent Sen. Ted Cruz faces oppositions from Republicans Bruce Jacobson Jr., Geraldine Sam, Mary Miller and Stefano de Stefano. On the Democrat side, Beto O’Rourke, Edward Kimbrough and Sema Hernandez all have filed to take on the GOP winner in November.

U.S. Rep. Kevin Brady is running unopposed in his party, but will face off in November against Democrat Steven David.

Local candidates filing for election in the March primary are:

•Criminal District Attorney — Brian L. Risinger (incumbent), Republican, Madisonville.

•County Judge — C.E. "Butch" McDaniel, Republican, (incumbent), North Zulch; David H. Culbreth Sr., Republican, Madisonville; André Dean, Republican, Midway; Norann McDonnell, Republican, Normangee; Tony Leago, Republican, Midway; Douglas R. Holly, Republican, Midway.

•District Clerk — Rhonda Cook Savage (incumbent), Republican, Midway.

•County Clerk — Susanne Morris (incumbent), Republican, Madisonville.

•County Treasurer — Judi Williams Delesandri (incumbent), Republican, Normangee.

•Commissioner Precinct 2 — Thomas M. Collard (incumbent), Republican, Madisonville; Carl Wiseman, Republican, Midway; Ken Wamsley, Republican, Madisonville.

•Commissioner Precinct 4 — George Hartsfield, Republican, Madisonville; David Pohorelsky, Republican, Madisonville; Lynn Standley, Republican, North Zulch; Robbie (Andrus) Holder, Republican, Madisonville.

•Justice of Peace Precinct 1 — Jon Stevens (incumbent), Republican, Madisonville; Karla Plotts Clark, Republican, Madisonville.

•Justice of Peace Precinct 2 — Stan Rodgers, Republican, Madisonville; Mitchell Dill, Republican, North Zulch; Lynn Jeffries, Republican, Normangee; Steven Cole, Republican, Normangee; Richard Gilbreath, Republican, Madisonville; Kelly Navarro, Republican, North Zulch.

•Republican Party Chair — Kevin Counsil, Republican, Madisonville

Applications for mail ballots will be taken from Jan. 1 to Feb. 23, and early voting will begin Feb 20 and end March 2. The drawing for ballot position in contested races was held Monday.

More information on the election can be found at the county website — www.co.madison.tx.us — or at the Texas Secretary of State website — www.sos.state.tx.us.