Local band members honored


The Madisonville Mustang Band had 11 students qualify to perform with the Association of Texas Small School Bands (ATSSB) Region 8 Honor Band on Saturday in Groesbeck.

“These students auditioned along with 1,500 other students to achieve this honor,” said Madisonville Band Director Stephanie Schmidt. “This is a very high honor for all of them.”

The students who qualified from the junior high were David Guevara, Cole Fiore and Thomas Dean. The high school honor band members are Ashlyn Johnson, Cody Pierson, Marvin Cordova, Samantha Vazquez, Shelby Lane, Mackenzie Phillips, Julio Lopez and Eduardo De la Trinidad.

The program also saw Johnson, Lopez, Pierson and Cordova qualify for the honor of All-Area Band.