Local elections approaching


On May 6, 2017, elections will be held to fill three open positions on the Madisonville City Council and a seat representing Precinct 3 on the Madisonville Consolidated ISD Board of Trustees. 

Although three positions are open on the City Council, there are five nominees to fill these positions.  Current members, Russell Bailey, Doug Sparkman, and Lois Brown have all served their four-year terms and are running in this election to maintain their position on the Madisonville City Council.  New to the ballot are Jesse Jaenicke and Chris McGilbra. Only city of Madisonville residents are permitted to vote in this election.

In the Madisonville Consolidated ISD School Board election, four positions are up for a vote, however, only position 3 is running contested.  Dennis McWhorter, Dr. Jason Cleere, and Dale Hurst are all running ‘unopposed’ on the ballot.  As for position 3, current school board Vice-President, Greg McBee, is running against Cassandra Cooper McGilbra.  All residents of Madison County are eligible to vote in the MCISD School Board election. 

Early voting will be conducted 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday, April 24, 2017 through Tuesday, May 2, 2017, at the city of Madisonville City Council room, with extended hours at this location on May 1st and May 2nd from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. Early voting is also available from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. at the Madisonville CISD Central Office on the same dates.

Home bound residents or residents who would prefer to mail-in their ballots can receive an official “Application for Ballot by Mail” at the Madison County Court House from Election Administrator, Earl C. Parker.  Mail-in applications must be received no later than April 28th.

Election day is May 6, 2017 from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.  There will be three voting centers available to choose from; Midway Volunteer Fire Department, Madisonville City Hall, and the Bedias Community Center. 

Should you have questions or concerns regarding the upcoming local elections, you may contact the Election Administrator by phone at (936) 349-0132 or visit his office at the Madison County Courthouse.