Primaries around the corner

Early voting ends Friday for the Tuesday General Election, and a slate of local candidates are seeking votes. Several positions are unopposed, and the races for County Judge, Commissioners’ Court Precincts 2 and 4, and Justice of the Peace Precincts 1 and 2 each have fielded several candidates, all from the Republican Party.
In addition to local races, there are several races on the state level that affect Madison County, such as District 57 for the State House of Representatives, currently held by Trent Ashby; State Senate District 5, currently held by Dr. Charles Schwertner; and even the governor, lieutenant governor and other state offices.
For information on voting, ballots or voting locations, call Elections Administrator Earl Parker at (936) 349-0132.
Local races in the 2018 Primary include:
District Attorney
Brian L. Risinger
County Judge
Douglas R. Holly
Tony Leago
Norann McDonnell
David H. Culbreth, Sr
C. E. "Butch" McDaniel
Andre Dean
District Clerk
Rhonda Cook Savage
County Clerk
Susanne Morris
County Treasurer
Judi Williams Delesandri
Commissioner Precinct Two
Carl Wiseman
Ken Wamsley
Thomas M. Collard
Commissioner Precinct Four
Lynn Standley
Robbie (Andrus) Holder
George Hartsfield
David Pohorelsky
Justice of Peace Precinct One
Karla Plotts Clark
Jon Stevens
Justice of Peace Precinct Two
Mitchell Dill
Stan Rodgers
Lynn Jeffries
Steven Cole
Richard Gilbreath
Kelly Navarro
Republican Party Chair
Kevin Counsil