Sheriff, commissioner gain nomination


Madison County Sheriff Travis Neeley and Precinct 1 County Commissioner Ricky Driskell retained their positions after the primary votes were cast on Tuesday.

Neeley and Driskell were the only local candidates facing primary challenges in their respective races. Neither face any Democratic challengers in the November general election.

Neeley garnered 1,242 votes to Ivan Linebaugh's 620 and Jim Jackson's 146; and Driskell retains his seat by defeating challenger Russell Smith 296-197.

In other races of note, Madison County still favors incumbent District 8 U.S. Rep. Kevin Brady, who picked up 938 votes from county GOP voters. For the other candidates, André Dean picked up 560 votes, Steve Toth 278 and Craig McMichael 224.

Statewide, Brady won in the District 8 race with 64,745 votes over nearest competitor Toth, who has 45,298. McMichael is third with 6,021, and Dean was fourth with 5,196.

“I’m blessed with great supporters, especially my wonderful wife, and I deeply thank you for sending me back to keep fighting for families and local businesses," Brady said in a press release. "We’ve got to turn this country around, and I intend to use my chairmanship of the Ways & Means Committee to do exactly that. I’m going to lay the foundation for a Republican president to deliver a fairer, flatter and simpler tax code and replace ObamaCare.”

Also, Madison County prefers home-grown presidents, as Texas Sen. Ted Cruz led the field of 13 candidates with 1,047. New York businessman Donald Trump was second with 671 votes, and Florida Sen. Marco Rubio was a distant third in the county with 194 votes.

Statewide, Cruz had 1,238,520 votes to Trump’s 757,108 and Rubio’s 501,836. None of the other candidates managed more that 5 percent of the statewide total.

On the Democratic side, presidential candidate Hillary Clinton picked up 227 votes in Madison County to challenger Bernie Sanders’ 69. Statewide, Clinton won 918,491 votes and Sanders had 467,641.

No Democrats filed for local races.

Other local candidates and their Madison County vote totals:

•State Rep. Trent Ashby, 1,719

•Tax Assessor/Collector Karen Lane, 1,789

•Precinct 3 County Commissioner Carl Cannon, 307

•Precinct 1 Constable James Weathers, 892

•Precinct 2 Constable Charles Turner, 857

•Republican Party County Chair Elizabeth Nosovitch, 1,636.

Overall, 2,467 voters, or 36 percent, cast ballots on Tuesday. All local vote results are unofficial until canvassed by the County Commissioner’s Court.